Trouble importing MQTT Library in Trigger Custom Function

Hello,

I’m fairly new to working with Typescript/NodeJS. I was able to follow tutorials to get a custom function built for a trigger. I have the handler.ts file and the rest of the file structure saved locally. Prior to today, the “8base deploy” command successfully deployed my trigger.

However, I am running into trouble importing this MQTT library. Following the instructions from the library’s author, I installed the library through npm with this command: npm install mqtt --save . After, I ran npm install mqtt -g. I noticed that the node_modules folder in my local 8base workspace now includes the mqtt library, so I assume this part was successful.

I added import * as mqtt from "mqtt"; alongside the other imports in my trigger’s handler.ts file. After this, I tried “8base deploy” and got this long error:

8base deploy
⠋ deploying…
Step: complete_error