Single Record query alway return null data

Hi all,

I’m new to 8base and I’m having an issue with returning a single record query like so:

{
post(id:1) {
title
body
}
}

{
peopleType(id:1) {
name
}
}

{
“data”: {
“peopleType”: null
}
}

But I know I have data in database. Please help, anyone encounter this?

Thanks
Sophek

Hi @sophek,

How are you running these queries? Are you using 8base API Explorer?
Also, 8base has system field for ID, and it is not integer, see below

and correct query is:

{
  post(id: "ck13d8cjj03ii01mo9era6e7h") {
    title
    body
  }
}

please replace “ck13d8cjj03ii01mo9era6e7h” with your id.

Also, what are you tried to do using this query?. See below:

{
    peopleType(id:1) {
        name
    }
}

To learn more about our GraphQL API, please see documentation https://docs.8base.com/8base-console/graphql-api

I see, thanks for clarfying that. So in order to create my own ID, I would have to name it PostID or something and manange the PostID number myself, I don’t see a way to auto increment this number. Aslo to make a field filterable, it has to be a unique value?

Thanks for your help.
Sophek

Also in the doc. any unique value? when I create a field of type text, I can filter on that value, but if I make a field of type Number, I can’t even though it’s unique.

• tableName(...) - Accepts id and any unique value as an argument to retreive a single record from the database.

Auto-generated queries

Whenever a table is added to a work space, two GraphQL query operations are auto-generated for the table. They are:

• tableName(...) - Accepts id and any unique value as an argument to retreive a single record from the database.

• tableNameList(...) - Accepts filter , sort , skip , after , before , first and, last to retrive a list of curated records while supporting pagination, relational-filtering, sorting, and more.